The Prime Minister has written to the President recommending that the following may be appointed as members of the Union Council of Ministers and has requested that the oath of office and secrecy be administered at 5.00pm on Tuesday.

The Prime Minister has recommended the following portfolios:

Cabinet Ministers:

V Kishore Chandra Deo: Tribal Affairs and Panchayati Raj
Beni Prasad Verma: Steel
Dinesh Trivedi: Railways
Jairam Ramesh: Rural Development
Vilasrao Deshmukh: Science and Technology and Earth Sciences
M Veerappa Moily: Corporate Affairs
Anand Sharma: Commerce and Industry; and additional charge of Textiles
Pawan Kumar Bansal: Parliamentary Affairs and additional charge of Water Resources
Salman Khursheed: Law and Justice and additional charge of Minority Affairs

Ministers of State (independent charge):
Srikant Jena: Statistics and Programme Implementation and Minister of State in the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilisers
Jayanthi Natarajan: Environment and Forests
Paban Singh Ghatowar: Development of North Eastern Region
Gurudas Kamat: Drinking Water and Sanitation.

Ministers of State:
Sudip Bandopadhyaya: Health and Family Welfare
Charan Das Mahant: Agriculture and Food Processing Industries
Jitendra Singh: Home Affairs
Milind Deora: Communications and Information Technology
Rajiv Shukla: Parliamentary Affairs
E Ahamed: External Affairs and Human Resource Development
V Narayanasamy: Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; and Prime Minister’s Office
Harish Rawat: Agriculture and Food Processing Industries; and Parliamentary Affairs
Mukul Roy: Shipping
Ashwani Kumar: Planning; Science and Technology and Earth Sciences.

List of ministers dropped from the Cabinet:
Dayanidhi Maran
Murli Deora
Shri BK Handique
Dr MS Gill
Kanti Lal Bhuria
A Sai Prathap
Arun S Yadav.

Leave a Reply